The NASCAR Cup Series was at Texas Motor Speedway for the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 this weekend.

The 500 mile race had drivers loving the track’s new repave even under the hot Fort Worth sun.

Several drivers started from the rear of the field after failing to qualify and wreaking during practice. This included Dale Earnhardt Jr. (88), Chase Elliott (24), Kyle Busch (18), Kyle Larson (42), and rookie Erik Jones (77).

Jimmie Johnson (48) also started from the back after an unapproved tire adjustment.

Before the race even started though, Austin Dillon (3), had to return to the garage with a problem with his track-bar. This put his 12 laps back.

2014 Champion Kevin Harvick (4) started on the pole, with young gun Ryan Blaney (21) next to him. And Harvick shot straight to the front.

On Lap 30, the caution came out and even though Blaney led the pack onto pit road, it was Harvick who led them off.

During this pit stop, Chris Buescher (37) got spun out by Erik Jones. This caused Buescher to hit his jackman as he was entering his pit stall. Fortunately he was released from the infield care center.

End of Stage 1, Ryan Blaney got in first stage win ever for the historic Wood Brother racing team.

  1. Ryan Blaney
  2. Martin Truex Jr. (78)
  3. Jamie McMurray (1)
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Brad Keselowski (2)
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Clint Bowyer (14)
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (17)
  9. Joey Logano (22)
  10. Kyle Busch.

Lap 167, after a debris caution, the race restarts with 3 laps to go in Stage 2.

Ryan Blaney jumps out in front and fights off Jimmie Johnson for the second stage and those 10 bonus points.

  1. Ryan Blaney
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Jamie McMurray
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Kurt Busch (41)
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  10. Martin Truex Jr.

It looked like Blaney was set up to sweep all three stages.

But not so fast. With 16 laps to go, its Joey Logano who is out front after not pitting during the last caution.

But Logano failed to fight off Jimmie Johnson for the lead.

The 7-time champion held onto his lead to win his 7th race at Texas Motor Speedway and clinches a spot in the playoffs.

Kyle Larson finished second for the forth time this season, even after suffering a pit road penalty earlier in the race.

Ryan Blaney who led 148 laps during the race, finished 12th.